ROLE MODELS IN SCIENCE

I fully agree that we should have some contemporary role models for our young scientists-to-be.  Einstein seems to be too far removed, Marie Curie is DEAD!  David Suzuki is not dead yet and must be one of the hottest 75-year old men on the planet.

Image

He has been a big influence to me over the years, as well as to many of my colleagues!  I retract that statement about my colleagues……his name has not rung a bell in my current or my former school…..maybe THEY need to read more!  Dr. Suzuki certainly gets around in science circles and I tend to follow what he is doing.

His comments about role models for scientists is quite comical as he speaks to students at The University of Ottawa.  Not only does he comment on role models for scientists, but how scientists should pay attention to which celebrities they decide to associate with.  Have a look!  Have a chuckle!!!!! Don’t forget to follow David on Youtube, Twitter and many other social networking sites….he has GOOD THINGS TO SAY….well, maybe not to Paris Hilton!!!!!

To know more about Dr. Suzuki, please take the time to make a good cup of coffee, hunker down and watch his autobiography:

I have edited a rather lengthy interview with David Suzuki to put some emphasis on what it is we need our kids at school to know.  History, Education and Goal Setting!!!!!

2 thoughts on “ROLE MODELS IN SCIENCE

  1. Hey Tom, he does sound like an interesting character. I may have read about him or one of his books a long time ago. The autobiography however is inaccessible. It says the “video is private.”

Leave a comment