There’s More to Darwin that Meets the Eye!! (And I DID mean to say ‘That’! )

Image

Further to my post of the other day on Darwin, this came up on the BBC.  Freud must have had some thoughts on Darwin, as nobody gets to keep 100% silent…even the emotionally vulnerable.  I’ll look into that later.

It seems that Hooker had a good shoulder to cry on!  Have a quick read!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-21939735

Cemented thoughts

Brussels, Belgium.

This morning as my seventh graders filed into my lab for their science class, they were confronted with the tail end of my last class……a slurry of bits of paper, each with a word on it spread haphazardly on the floor.  We were classifying words…science vocabulary….let your mind wander a bit to visualize!  Eva, on her entrance, quickly shouted to the  seventh graders behind her, ‘don’t walk on his words!’.

This phrase caught my ear and immediately I thought that it was the beginning of a poem that needed to be written.  By the end of the day, I came up with the words you find below.  Eva is a harpist and I am going to challenge her to write a piece to on her harp to accompany it.  Then I thought of Paul.  He would ‘get’ this.

ImageDon’t walk on my words

They sprawl on the floor

They carry my thoughts

My long-held mantras

You can build a bridge

To get over them

But they will continue

To whisper

Or even bellow

From under your feet

Tempting you to take heed.

Jump in and

Swim through my words

Let them

Permeate your being

Penetrate your mind

Don’t walk on my words

Rather, walk through them

Amble among their meanings

And take hold of

My thoughts.